Dosa

Dosa

Dosa is a sort of crunchy, thin pancake and is eaten above all in the south India as a breakfast or dinner. There are different manners of writing of the word Dosa, the most frequent ones are Dosay, Dosai, Thosai and Dhosa. The word Dosa is a Hindi and in the most widespread manner of writing. The word Dosai comes from that dravidian family of languages Tamil which is spoken above all in the federal states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.

The basic dough for the Dosa exists of water, lens flour and rice flour. It is baked on a round cast-iron record or a big frying pan.

Dosa

Ingredients for 10 servings:

300 g of rice flour
100 g of lens flour
300 ml Water
3 tablespoons of yoghurt
2 tablespoons Ghee or clarified butter
1 TL salt

Preparation:
Flour and salt in a bowl give and mix. Waters and yoghurt mix, to the flour give and to a smooth dough mix. Cover with a culinary cloth or a cling film and overnight in the fridge put. Ghee in a big frying pan give and heat up. Then give some dough in the frying pan and bake a thin pancake. The Dosa should be golden-brown, it may be too dark by no means, otherwise it does not taste any more so well.
The Dosa is suited very well as an addition for the most different curries.

Depending on the region of India there are a lot of different variations, for example, the Rava Dosa, it is not produced with flour sonderd with semolina. With the wheat Dosa only wheat flour is used instead of lens flour and rice flour, the Ragi millet Dosa is made only of millet flour and with the Muttai Dosa eggs come to the dough.

Rava Dosa

Ingredients for 2 servings

1 cup of semolina
2 TL flour
½ cups of curd
2 green chilli pods (hacked)
2 TL cumin
2 tablespoons of coconut palm rasps
Salt
Ghee or oil

Preparation:

Flour, semolina, curd and half a cup of water well mix, a smooth dough should originate. The bowl cover with a culinary cloth and for about 1 half an hour leave. Now chilli pods, coconut palms rasp, cumin and some salt in addition give. If the dough is too firm then some waters in addition give. Ghee in a big frying pan give and heat up. Give possibly half a cup of dough in and to a thin pancake bake. Both sides should have a nice golden-brown colour. If the Dosa is ready it is folded in the middle and is served together with chutneys or curries.

Dosa there is without or with filling, it is filled with vegetables or meat. According to region there are very different fillings, one of the best known full Dosas is the Masala Dosa. It is filled with cooked, thrown potatoes, onions, sometimes also carrots and curry to spices, afterwards is folded up and mostly served with coconut chutney and red chutney. The coconut chutney is a half-firm paste which is mostly produced of coconut, green paprika, Dal and coriander or mint. Other additions of a Dosas are Sambar, milagai podi (it is produced of paprika, Dal and salt) and chicken or lamb curries.

Masala Dosa

Ingredients for 4 servings:

175 g of round grain rice
100 g peeled Mung beans
4 potatoes
2 fresh chilli pods (hacked)
6 tablespoons Ghee or oil
4 tablespoons of coconut palm rasp
2 tablespoons of fresh coriander (hacked)
2 tablespoons of butter
3 TL of fresh gingers (grated)
2 ½ TL salt
2 TL mustard seed
2 TL cumin
½ TL sugar

Preparation
Mung beans and rice allow to give in different bowls and soak overnight. Then wash, let drain and in the barman mash. Only so many waters use this a mash originates. 1 chilli pod, sugar and ½ TL salt in addition give. At least 2 hours leave, then give Ghee in a frying pan and heat up. Some dough give in the frying pan and like a thin pancake bake to him is golden-brown.

Potatoes cook, peel and then roughly crush. Coconut palm the rasps which mash the second chilli pod, ginger and a little water to a mash. Ghee in a pot give, heat up and then give the mustard seed and the cumin in and under touch easily roast. Now give the mash in addition and well stir. After one minute of potatoes, coriander, salt and curcuma in gives. The whole during about 5 minutes roast and occasionally always stir. The Dosas fill, in the middle fold up and from both sides over again briefly in butter roast.
Serve in addition best of all to one coconut chutney.

Dosa

Dosa, eine Art indischer Pfannkuchen

Dosa ist eine Art knuspriger, dünner Pfannkuchen und wird vor allem in Südindien als Frühstück oder Abendessen gegessen. Es gibt verschiedene Schreibweisen des Wortes Dosa, die häufigsten sind Dosay, Dosai, Thosai und Dhosa. Das Wort Dosa ist Hindi und die am weit verbreitetste Schreibweise. Das Wort Dosai stammt aus der dravidischen Sprachfamilie Tamil, die vor allem in den Bundesstaaten Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka und Andhra Pradesh gesprochen wird.  

Der Grundteig für das Dosa besteht aus Wasser, Linsenmehl und Reismehl. Es wird auf einer runden gusseisernen Platte oder einer großen Pfanne gebacken.

Dosa

Zutaten für 10 Portionen:

300 g Reismehl
100 g Linsenmehl
300 ml    Wasser
3 EL Joghurt
2 EL Ghee oder Butterschmalz
1 TL Salz

Zubereitung:
Mehl und Salz in eine Schüssel geben und vermischen. Wasser und Joghurt  mischen, zum Mehl geben und zu einem glatten Teig verrühren. Mit einem Küchentuch oder einer Frischhaltefolie zudecken und über Nacht in den Kühlschrank stellen. Ghee in eine große Pfanne geben und erhitzen. Dann etwas Teig in die Pfanne geben und einen dünnen Pfannkuchen backen. Das Dosa sollte goldbraun sein, es darf auf keinen Fall zu dunkel sein, sonst schmeckt es nicht mehr so gut.
Das Dosa eignet sich sehr gut als Beilage für die verschiedensten Currys.

Abhängig von der Region Indiens gibt es sehr viele unterschiedliche Variationen, zum Beispiel das Rava Dosa, es wird nicht mit Mehl sonder mit Grieß hergestellt. Beim Weizen Dosa wird anstatt Linsenmehl und Reismehl nur Weizenmehl verwendet, das Ragi Hirse Dosa wird nur aus Hirsemehl gemacht und beim Muttai Dosa kommen Eier in den Teig.

Rava Dosa

Zutaten für 2 Portion

1 Tasse Grieß
2 TL Mehl
½ Tasse Quark
2 grüne Chilischoten ( gehackt )
2 TL Kreuzkümmel
2 EL Kokos Raspeln
Salz
Ghee oder Öl

Zubereitung:

Mehl, Grieß, Quark und eine halbe Tasse Wasser gut verrühren, es sollte ein glatter Teig entstehen. Die Schüssel mit einem Küchentuch zudecken und für etwa eine halbe Stunde stehen lassen. Nun  Chilischoten, Kokos Raspel, Kreuzkümmel und etwas Salz dazu geben. Wenn der Teig zu fest ist dann noch etwas Wasser dazu geben. Ghee in eine große Pfanne geben und erhitzen. Etwa eine halbe Tasse Teig hinein geben und zu einem dünnen Pfannkuchen backen. Beide Seiten sollten eine schöne goldbraune Farbe haben. Wenn das Dosa fertig ist wird es in der Mitte zusammen gefaltet und zusammen mit Chutneys oder Currys serviert.

Dosa gibt es ohne oder mit Füllung, gefüllt wird es mit Gemüse oder Fleisch. Je nach Region gibt es sehr unterschiedliche Füllungen, eine der bekanntesten gefüllten Dosas ist das Masala Dosa. Es wird mit gekochten, gewürfelten Kartoffeln, Zwiebeln, manchmal auch Karotten und Curry Gewürzen gefüllt, anschließend zusammen geklappt und meist mit Kokosnuss Chutney und rotem Chutney serviert. Das Kokosnuss Chutney ist eine halbfeste Paste, die meist aus Kokosnuss, grüner Paprika, Dal und Koriander oder Minze hergestellt wird. Weitere Beilagen eines Dosas sind Sambar, milagai podi ( es wird aus Paprika, Dal und Salz hergestellt ) und Huhn oder Lamm Currys.

Masala Dosa

Zutaten für 4 Portionen:

175 g Rundkornreis
100 g geschälte Mung Bohnen
4 Kartoffeln
2  frische Chilischoten ( gehackt )
6 EL Ghee oder Öl
4 EL Kokos Raspel
2 EL frischer Koriander ( gehackt )
2 EL Butter
3 TL frischer Ingwer ( gerieben )
2 ½ TL Salz
2 TL Senfkörner
2 TL Kreuzkümmel
½ TL Zucker

Zubereitung
Mung Bohnen und Reis in unterschiedliche Schüsseln geben und über Nacht einweichen lassen. Dann waschen, abtropfen lassen und im Mixer pürieren.Nur soviel Wasser verwenden das ein Brei entsteht. 1 Chilischote, Zucker und einen ½ TL Salz dazu geben. Mindestens 2 Stunden stehen lassen, dann Ghee in eine Pfanne geben und erhitzen. Etwas Teig in die Pfanne geben und wie einen dünnen Pfannkuchen backen bis er goldbraun ist.

Kartoffeln kochen, schälen und dann grob zerstampfen. Kokos Raspeln, die zweite Chilischote, Ingwer und ein bisschen Wasser zu einem Brei pürieren. Ghee in einen Topf geben, erhitzen und dann die Senfkörner und den Kreuzkümmel hinein geben und unter rühren leicht rösten. Nun den Brei dazu geben und gut umrühren. Nach einer Minute Kartoffeln,  Koriander, Salz und  Kurkuma hinein geben. Das Ganze etwa 5 Minuten lang braten und zwischendurch immer umrühren. Die Dosas füllen, in der Mitte zusammen klappen und von beiden Seiten nochmal kurz in Butter braten.
Dazu am besten ein Kokosnuss Chutney servieren.​