Kochi

Kochi (of early Cochin called)

The city of Kochi lies in the southern part of India, in the coach test sowing Kerala. She became direct in a natural harbour (which originated in 1341 with a flood disaster) built which lies on the coast of the Arabian Sea. The capital of Keralas is removed Thiruvananthapuram and just 200 km from Kochi. Kochi is the second largest town in Kerala with about 600,000 inhabitants. The city of Kochi has lain mainly on the mainland, has shifted, however, also to a few small islands. The parts of town fort Kochi and Mattancherry lie on a peninsula and Ernakulam on the mainland.

Kochi is the most important port in Kerala. On Willingdon Iceland which is connected by the Palluruth bridge with fort Kochi and by the Venduruthy bridge with Ernakulam are several big harbour arrangements. Beside the exportation of various products, to the ship construction, the textile industry, the fishing and the wooden economy, the tourism has also become meanwhile an important source of income.

Many ferries are used as a means of transportation between the mainland and the islands and peninsulas. The international airport of Kochi lies beyond the town and is to be reached to the car at about 40 minutes. Two railway stations in Kochi offer a good connection with the rest of India, besides, train driving is very inexpensive in India.

The average temperature in Kochi amounts all year round about 28 degrees centigrade. Hence, this comes this the temperatures on account of the situation by the sea sway only very minimally. The monsoon time (rainy season) starts in May and mostly lasts till the end of August, however, here there also is from September to December over and over again strong rainfall.

In Kochi primarily Hindus, but also many Muslims and Christians live. The mostly spoken language is here Malayalam, but also English is spoken of many inhabitants.

Places of interest in Kochi
The Franciscans Kirche was established in 1503 by Europeans of wood and was renewed in the 16th century by a stone construction. It is the oldest church in India of Europeans fort Kochi on the peninsula was built and finds itself in the part of town. The famous Chinese fishing nets are also to be found there, they were introduced supposedly in the 13th century by Chinese businessmen.

In of the middle of the part of town of Mattancherry of the Mattancherry the palace which was built in the 15th century by Portuguese, around a Hindu temple around. The Portuguese made to him to the Raja of Kochi (at that time Cochin) the present and received commercial privileges as a consideration.
In the 16th century he became of Dutchman renovated and is known since also as a Dutch Palace. Meanwhile he is used as a museum and in the first floor there is a big hall with wall paintings of Indian epics is decorated.
In the Jewish quarter of the part of town of Mattancherry is a synagogue which was built in the 15th century and was destroyed in the 16th century by the Portuguese. About 2 years after the destruction of the synagogue the Dutchmen began with her reconstruction. Today the synagogue with Chinese, hand to painted tiles and artistic oil lamps which hang from the cover is decorated. There is there also a Torah’s role and copper records on which recordings about the privileges of the Jewish forefathers are to be seen.
The Bolghatty palace is on Bolghatty Iceland, a small island, and was built in 1744 by the Dutchmen.
The Portuguese fortress Palliport was built in the 16th century and is on Vypeen Iceland, also a small island, and is absolutely worth a visit.

Kochi

Kochi, eine wichtige Hafenstadt in Suedindien

Kochi ( früher Cochin genannt )

Die Stadt Kochi liegt im südlichen Teil Indiens, im Bustestsaat Kerala. Sie wurde direkt an einem Naturhafen ( der 1341 bei einer Flutkatastrophe entstand ) erbaut, der an der Küste des Arabischen Meeres liegt. Die Hauptstadt Keralas ist Thiruvananthapuram und knapp 200 km von Kochi entfernt. Kochi ist mit etwa 600.000 Einwohnern die zweitgrößte Stadt in Kerala. Die Stadt Kochi ist vorwiegend auf dem Festland gelegen, jedoch auch auf ein paar kleine Inseln verlagert. Die Stadtteile Fort Kochi und Mattancherry liegen auf einer Halbinsel und Ernakulam auf dem Festland.

Kochi ist die wichtigste Hafenstadt in Kerala. Auf  Willingdon Island, das durch die Palluruth Bridge mit Fort Kochi und durch die Venduruthy Bridge mit Ernakulam verbunden ist, befinden sich mehrere große Hafenanlagen. Neben der Ausfuhr diverser Produkte, dem Schiffsbau, der Textilindustrie, dem Fischfang und der Holzwirtschaft, ist auch der Tourismus mittlerweile zu einer wichtigen Einnahmequelle geworden.

Die vielen Fähren werden als Verkehrsmittel zwischen dem Festland und den Inseln und Halbinseln genutzt. Der internationale Flughafen von Kochi liegt außerhalb der Stadt und ist dem Auto in etwa 40 Minuten zu erreichen. Die zwei Bahnhöfe in Kochi bieten eine gute Verbindung zum Rest Indiens, zudem ist Zugfahren in Indien sehr preiswert.

Die Durchschnittstemperatur in Kochi beträgt das ganze Jahr über um die 28 Grad Celsius. Das kommt daher das die Temperaturen aufgrund der Lage am Meer nur sehr minimal schwanken. Die Monsunzeit ( Regenzeit ) fängt im Mai an und dauert meist bis Ende August, jedoch gibt es hier auch von September bis Dezember immer wieder starke Regenfälle.

In Kochi leben hauptsächlich Hindus, aber auch viele Muslime und Christen. Die am meisten gesprochene Sprache ist hier Malayalam, aber auch Englisch wird von vielen Bewohnern gesprochen.

Sehenswürdigkeiten in Kochi
Die Franziskaner Kirche wurde im Jahre 1503 von Europäern aus Holz errichtet und im 16. Jahrhundert durch einen Steinbau erneuert. Sie ist die älteste Kirche die in Indien von Europäern erbaut wurde und befindet sich im Stadtteil Fort Kochi auf der Halbinsel. Die berühmten chinesischen Fischernetze sind dort ebenfalls zu finden, sie wurden angeblich im 13. Jahrhundert von chinesischen Kaufleuten eingeführt.

Im der Mitte des Stadtteils Mattancherry der Mattancherry Palast, der im 15. Jahrhundert von Portugiesen, um einen Hindu Tempel herum, erbaut wurde. Die Portugiesen machten ihm dem Raja von Kochi ( damals Cochin ) zum Geschenk und erhielten als Gegenleistung Handelsprivilegien.
Im 16. Jahrhundert wurde er von Holländer renovierten und ist seit dem auch als Dutch Palace bekannt. Mittlerweile wird er als Museum genutzt und im ersten Stockwerk befindet sich eine große Halle die mit Wandgemälden von indischen Epen geschmückt ist.
Im jüdischen Viertel des Stadtteils Mattancherry befindet sich eine Synagoge, die im 15. Jahrhundert erbaut und im 16. Jahrhundert von den Portugiesen zerstört wurde. Etwa 2 Jahre nach der Zerstörung der Synagoge begannen die Holländer mit ihrem Wiederaufbau. Heute ist die Synagoge mit chinesischen, Hand bemalten Kacheln und kunstvollen Öllampen, die von der Decke hängen, ausgeschmückt. Es gibt dort auch eine Thorarolle und Kupferplatten, auf denen Aufzeichnungen über die Privilegien der jüdischen Vorfahren zu sehen sind.
Der Bolghatty Palast befindet sich auf Bolghatty Island, einer kleinen Insel, und wurde 1744 von den Holländern gebaut.
Die portugiesische Festung Palliport wurde im 16. Jahrhundert gebaut und befindet sich auf Vypeen Island, ebenfalls eine kleine Insel, und ist durchaus einen Besuch wert.​